SOL Day 8: A Quick Stop

On the road between Indianapolis and Columbus, there is a quirky little tourist stop called Warm Glow Candle Store. It’s always been intriguing – there are plenty of billboards inviting you in, and when you drive by, you see that part of the store actually looks like a giant candle.

Since we had a little time to kill on our way home today, Scott and I decided to stop. We just wanted to check it out – walk around maybe pick up a candle – and  satisfy our curiosity.

The store was pretty much what I expected, but it was a nice little pit stop to make on a 3-hour journey. We explored the 20,000 square feet, which overall felt like an expanded Cracker Barrel gift shop. The candles were plentiful and fairly reasonably priced, especially compared to brands like Yankee Candle. I ended up buying a small sugar maple scented candle for about $5, which was a nice little souvenier. All of the candles are handmade in Indiana, which is also a nice touch.

I like stopping at unique places like this – one of my other favorites is Grandpa’s Cheese Barn, located near Ashland, Ohio. I discovered that shop on the way to a concert in Cleveland with friends a few years ago.

I’m happy that we stopped today for a quick little pit stop, and I would recommend it if you find yourself traveling along I-70 and need a little break. It’s nothing too fancy, but it’s a nice change from stopping at a gas station or fast food restaurant for a break.

2 thoughts on “SOL Day 8: A Quick Stop

  1. It’s great to finally stop at someplace you pass by over and over. In Wales, it was the Butterfly Man’s shop. Giant metal butterflies attached to the outside of the building, sounds kind of tacky, but we’d see them all over Wales. Finally stopped one time and now I have my own colorful treasure!

    Like

Leave a comment